Recent changes in the law have altered the process for obtaining a License to Carry or a Firearms Identification Card in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. Review the information below to become familiar with the process. If you have any questions, please call the Dighton Police Department at 508-669-6711.
Applicants must be 21 years old to obtain a License to Carry Class A. Applicants must be 18 years old to obtain a Firearms Identification Card. Applicants that are between the ages of 15-18 years old may obtain an FID with written consent from their parent or legal guardian. Applicants may apply when they are 14 years of age, however the FID Card would not be granted to them until their 15th birthday.
First time applicants must attend and successfully complete a certified Basic Firearms Safety Course or Basic Hunter Education Course by an instructor approved by the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. The applicant must be trained in the category of license that they will apply for and the instructor must note the category on the certificate.
If you have an FID Card that was issued prior to 1998, it does in fact expire despite that it reads that it never expires. There is NO EXCEPTION for the possession of any firearms, rifles or shotguns under an expired FID Card. You MAY NOT carry or transport any arms out of your home under ANY circumstances. We strongly advise that if you find yourself in this situation to secure any weapons with a properly licensed relative, friend or licensed FFL dealer until such time as you obtain the proper permit.
License to Carry Firearms & Firearms Identification Card
Application/Renewal Procedure Effective 02/01/2020
- Completed Firearms License Application typed or printed legibly.
- Letter from applicant to Chief of Police explaining the reason for requesting said License to Carry Firearms/Firearms Identification Card. No letter is needed for renewal applicants.
- Two (2) reference letters from non-relatives with address and telephone number included. No letters are needed for renewal applicants.
- Applicants MUST provide 2 original (no copies) of the following:
- Utility Bill
- Property Tax Bill
- Excise Tax Bill
In addition to the 2 proof of residency forms, a MA driver’s license or MA ID card will also be required during application interview.
- Copy of Massachusetts Firearms Safety Certificate or Massachusetts Hunter Safety Course Certificate. If previously licensed on June 1, 1998, no certificate is required. No certificate is required for renewal applicants or chemical propellant purchasers.
- $100.00 non-refundable check or money order payable to the Town of Dighton, for a LTC or FID. There is no renewal fee for persons over age 70 for any type of license.
- $25.00 non-refundable check or money order payable to the Town of Dighton for an FID being issued to anybody under the age of 18.
Please place your application paperwork into a sealed envelope and drop off at the Dighton Police Department. Your application will be processed and you will be contacted for your interview.
IMPORTANT NOTES ON LTC/FID APPLICATION:
Please read before answering Question #4
“Have you ever been arrested or appeared in court as a defendant for any criminal offense?”
- The keyword here is “appeared”, NOT “arrested”.
- You DO NOT have to list or cite NON-CRIMINAL traffic offenses.
Having been arrested and convicted of a crime does not necessarily prohibit you from obtaining a LTC or FID. You CAN BE DENIED for not answering the questions correctly.
Understand that “ever appeared” includes ALL adult and juvenile appearances in court. It does not matter if you were found guilty or if the charges were dismissed or continued without a finding, you MUST list it on your application. If you have a sealed record, inform us of that information. We do have access to sealed records and the information shall be found.
We will not accept, “I forgot” or “they told me my court appearances would not show up on my record, or “that was so long ago” or anything of the like.
Make any changes now and remember that you are signing your application under the penalties of perjury and can be denied a permit or license for failing to answer correctly. As a result, you could face court prosecution of said perjury.
If you are over the age of 18 and you have a chemical propellant permit ONLY, you no longer need to renew this permit. In August of 2014, MGL changed to allow residents of the Commonwealth to purchase and carry pepper spray without a permit if they are 18 years of age or older. If you are under the age of 18, you will still need to apply for the chemical propellant FID.
Be advised that once your LTC/FID expires, it is in fact EXPIRED and there is no implied grace period. To qualify for the grace period , you must submit your renewal application prior to the expiration date of your current license/permit. If you initiate a renewal of your license prior to the expiration date, then the permit becomes indefinite until you receive your new one. Please provide ample time prior to your LTC/FID expiring and place your name on our call list at least 2 months prior to expiration.
CHANGE OF ADDRESS:
If you are new to the Town of Dighton, you have 30 days to submit your change of address form. Certified copies of this form must be sent to the MA Firearms Record Bureau in Chelsea, MA, The Dighton Police Department as well as to the agency having jurisdiction over where you most recently resided. MA LTC/FID Change Of Address Form.
LOST OR STOLEN LTC’s or FID’s:
Should you find your LTC or FID lost, stolen or damaged to the point where it is no longer visibly valid, you should initiate a replacement by calling our Department and speaking with a firearms licensing officer.